Tanuki Character Modelling

Similar to the Kitsune I started the charter off with one of the base models from Zbrush. For this character I used the Demo character (Kotelnikoff Earthquake, n.d.) as it fit the body shape was similar to the concept art I had created for the Tanuki.

Screenshot 2019-05-15 at 23.15.22.png

I began the process by smoothing out the model’s details and transposing the arms forward so that they’re pointing straight down. I then imported the hadn’t and feet from the Kitsune model and replaced them onto the Tanuki model. I decided to use this approach as the paws are quite similar and since the limbs were already made it would save time to reuse them. However, When I attached them to the character’s body I found that because of the imported limbs were high poly. When you dynamism the meshes together you lose the details of the claws. I decided to combat this by attaching fur onto the model’s wrists. This not only hides the seam but it also adds unique characteristics o the character.

When I modelled the Kitsune I forgot to model the tail. Below is a recording of how I made the tail which I mentioned earlier in the blog. 

With this character, I found problems with the symmetry line, when I tried to add detail to the model I couldn’t symmetrically sculpt it because the points were off. To combat this, I split the model in half and exported it as a .obj. By importing it into Maya and resetting the pivot I was able to import it back into Zbrush and have the summery line back in the correct position.

Screenshot 2019-05-05 at 17.12.20

Screenshot 2019-05-05 at 17.43.58

I then UV unwrapped the character and used the protection paint so that the seems wouldn’t be visible on the characters face. Once that was completed I poly painted on the sub tool according to the colours from the concept art.

Screenshot 2019-05-15 at 22.50.28.png

 

I was able to learn the process of modelling my characters from the Kitsune aided in the ease of modelling this character. From the first character, I learnt how to UV unwrap and texture the character which meant that I was able to complete this character quickly.

 

 

1234.pngkjhgfd.pngin.png

Leave a comment