Show Concept

 

IMG_2619.jpg

In the run-up to the deadline and the degree show, I have been thinking about hoe i am going to occupy the space.  Based on the feedback from the dry run crit show I skitched out how I want the layout of the final year show to be. As you can see from the sketch, the layout is similar to the crit show with the Tv in between the two masks. However, I have decided to raise the TV higher and add two banners underneath it.

One of the objectives of this project is to inform people of the two characters as well as bringing the characters to life. However, in the last crit I wasn’t able to explain the story/background of the characters with just the masks and TV. I have always had an idea of including a banner/poster into the scene and use it as a tool to tell the story. Instead, of printing a story on the scrolls I will utilise the AR element and use the print to produce a worded short story of the characters within the AR app.

In order to get a clear visualisation of how I will be displaying my work at the show. I have decided to create a 3D render of the exhibition space. Below is the process that I used to create the final visualisation of the space. I outsourced various models which are referenced in the reference place.

Screenshot 2019-05-16 at 00.13.05.pngScreenshot 2019-05-16 at 00.33.44.pngScreenshot 2019-05-16 at 00.58.32.pngScreenshot 2019-05-16 at 01.03.08.pngScreenshot 2019-05-16 at 01.03.33.png

fg.jpggfh.jpg

treew.jpg

Before the show, we were required to submit some information on out FMP to the design school:

  • Name
  • Contact details
  • Programme of Study
  • Title
  • Statement or Synopsis:
  • Images:
  • Description of exhibition space 
  • AV equipment required

Bakeneko ( 化け猫 ) The Changed Cat. (Cat has been scrapped from the project)

Tanuki ( たぬき) Raccoon Dog

Kitsune ( キツネ ) The Divine Fox

“Using augmented reality, the project explores the idea of evolving storytelling techniques by disclosing a glimpse of Japanese folklore. It combines the use of masks, a traditional storytelling technique and technology to bring to life shapeshifting Japanese Yokai*. Revealing the anthropomorphic Yokai form the characters have adopted with Japanese influences. * Yōkai ( 妖怪 ) are a class of supernatural monsters, spirits, and demons in Japanese folklore.”

 


 

POSTER

rtyui.jpg

Untitled-2.jpg

Final Renders

sdfg.jpgtftfy.jpg

Here two different variations of the concept, I have yet to decide which option I want to go with as I want my space to match my neighbouring exhibition spaces. Although having a red wall will bring attention to my work, as an art exhibition I think it would benefit more if all the exhibitions in my section worked together visually. In order to do this, I will need to discuss this with the different members of my class that are situated next to my space. This will help me determine what colours I want to use. In addition to this, when I present my final year show concept to the lecturers I want to get their opinion on which variation will look better aesthetically.

sddgthj.jpghgfd.jpg

Materials Needed

In order to plan the show I need to identify the different materials and equipment I need:

  • 1 x Flat Screen Mounted to Wall
  • 2 x Transparent poles to hold masks or transparent shelves to hold masks.
  • 2 x Large banner prints hung either side of the masks.
  • iPad
  • Lighting cable to HDMI adaptor
  • Red Paint
  • Scroll frames
  • Stand for Ipad

Plan

Before the hanging of the show, I will need to prep the space that I’ve been given. I will need to and by:

  • 21/05 – Print banners and build scroll pieces
  • 22/05 – Fill the holes in the wall and sand them down
  • 24/05 – Paint the wall either white or red depending on which option I want to do
  • 30/05 – Install TV
  • 30/05 – Install Masks
  • 31/05 – Set up Ipad

In order for the hanging to run smoothly, these are the things I need to complete after the first deadline.

Leave a comment